“Mr. Cervantes, You Needn’t Stay Quiet.”

I remember back in grade school the one thing that made me shake in my boots more than anything was meeting new people.  I moved the last year of Junior High and it was dreadful to say the least.  My first memory was getting to class the first day and having the teacher ask me to stand up and introduce myself!  Hahahaha.  It makes me laugh to remember and picture the utter disaster and fail of that moment.  I said my last name first and my first name last only to have the teacher correct me on my own name.  It bought me some giggles, which is always a good start, but made my cheeks flush which killed my act completely.  I went silent and the teacher just asked me to sit down.  I knew that day that stand-up would have to be only on the weekends.

I had a difficult time even in college and even as I started to gain momentum in the work place.  My speech classes were something I feared, like really fear with a sweaty brown and everything, and I was really not liking new classes.  It’s now that I understand my confusion in the whole matter.  Meeting new people and making friends made me shiver because I didn’t believe that I could have something good for the other person.  That is another way of saying that I lacked confidence in sharing myself with the world.  

I was still in college, and slowly but surely loosening up, when a college professor pulled me aside in a Legal Ethics class and said, “Mr. Cervantes you needn’t stay quiet.  Speak up because that way we all learn from you.” And with that he swung his mallet on his desk and we started a mock trial that I had been nominated as lead prosecutor in.  Even when I was nominated for a tough role, one that you better go into with some knowledge, I didn’t quite understand that others were in fact interested in what I had to say.

So the anthem is high and clear and may it sway like a mighty flag in your conscience.  You are interesting.  When you meet someone knew, there is so much that you can share with them and visa versa.  But it only works if that other person perceives the correct vibe from you.  If they can feel that by shaking your hand, seeing your smile, and by the enthusiasm in your voice that you have something to say – CONGRATS!!  They are all ears and will be willing to open up to a friendship or at least a quality conversation.

                                       
Source: Shiver

2 thoughts on ““Mr. Cervantes, You Needn’t Stay Quiet.”

Leave a Reply

