Observation Post – Together

Together we can accomplish so much more.  I say that metaphorically but it is tested and proven metaphysically; in the material world.  When I saw that the writing prompt for today was “Together”, it triggered a reminiscence where I recounted all the “Togetherness” I had experienced in my life recently.  

There’s nothing like a tough situation to bring people together.  As humans, there is an automatice reaction when we see someone trudging along – to pull them forward.  Needless to say, not everyone reacts in this matter but I’m proud to say that 90 percent give themselves to help.  

But I have recently experienced the contrary of that.  What happens when you meet someone that gives everything to help even though there is no dilemma?  Someone that has the spirit of the Good Samaritan and not just someone that feels obligated at a certain moment to help.

I have been more the latter than I wish was true.  But it’s been something that I have been learning about and can say I’m determined to turn it around.  

As a country we have been through so much; as a people diverse in color, religion, customs, and skills, we have been tested and tried.  The American Spirit is not a sham; to me is it real.  Yet is does not belong to America!!  It’s the Human Spirit, if you will, that feels drawn to its natural state – to help, to serve, to care, to give.  But it seems that 90 percent of the populations only allows their guard down when a mass-scale natural disaster strikes affecting millions.  Yet when it comes to helping the little oils lady across the street we don’t look twice.  Or when we pass a car in the middle of the road with the emergency lights on we are way to busy to see if we can assist.  

No one is discrediting anyone here; on the contrary, I gain my perspective on this issue from the very real struggles that our country has endured and from the amazing outpouring of perseverance and good will that I have witnessed.  But as in most posts on Wither Or Thrive – can’t we do more?  Can’t we move from the large scale and start to work on the small details?  After all, those are the ones that make a difference every single day.  

So this is me talking to me.  And really, I believe that this is God talking to me.  It’s time I wake up and look around and step out of my box.  To give should not be easy; do it anyway.  To help should come with sacrifice; help more. To be selfless means to do it everyday, not just every now and then when your neighbor or community shows initiative which in turns sparks yours.  I am going to try my best from now because that a more TOGETHER than we have ever been and that’s what the world needs today.

Source: Together

2 thoughts on “Observation Post – Together

  1. I wish you luck! I think it is very admirable to want to step out of your comfort zone and do something. The world is a shambles. Everytime I turn on the television I see a school shooting or a terrorist attack. Sometimes I wish time would just freeze but I know that is unrealistic and will never happen. Together is a beautiful concept and a wonderful word. Follow your heart. We need more people like you.

    Like

Leave a Reply

