“Brother” by NEEDTOBREATHE

The song “Brother” by NEEDTOBREATHE should be on everyone’s playlist.needtobreathe_album-coverbear

I don’t start this post in this fashion so that the band can recognize it or acknowledge it.  That is not at all the case.  I say this because the lyrics of this song rang so true with me the first time I heard it.  Musical talent aside, the message that NEEDTOBREATHE expresses is one right from the lips of the Savior.

One day a man came to Jesus and said, “Teacher, what good thing must I do to have eternal life?”  Jesus answered, “If you want to have eternal life, obey the law’s commands.”  The man replied, “I have obeyed all these commands.  What else do I need?”  Jesus answered, ” If you want to be perfect, then go and sell all that you own.  Give the money to the poor, and you will have riches in heaven.  Then come and follow me!”  When the man heard Jesus tell him to give away his possessions, he was sad.

Jesus was trying to test if this man loved his neighbor more than his house.  Jesus wanted to see if in fact this man was ready to do what he needed to reach the goal of being Jesus’ disciple.  This was a man that had obeyed all of the laws because Jesus would have called him out on his lie if he was lying.  But with all of this, he did not know how to love his neighbor.  He did not love his brother.

We can live a life that is “holy” and “sanctified” all we want.  But on that final day the Lord will say, “I was thirsty but you did not quench my thirst.  I was hungry and you let me leave hungry.  I was without shelter but you didn’t take me in.”

If we do not learn to love our brother feverishly like Jesus loved his church, then we are in jeopardy.  We are in danger of thinking that we are walking with Jesus when really we only think we do.

If you have a second to listen to this song I recommend you do.  Pick up their album as I feel that this band is not after crowds but after transmitting something real and honest.  Regardless of who they are, their music connects with what we should be doing here on earth.

Hebrews 13:1-3

“Brother” by NEEDTOBREATHE